Accident Research - GIDAS

On scene accident research is an important element for the improvement of vehicle and traffic safety. The complexity of an accident can only be fully represented by in-depth recording and analysis of traffic accidents. Advanced simulation techniques or crash-tests alone, cannot cover this multitude.

The German In-Depth Accident Study (GIDAS) is a joint venture between BASt and the Automotive Research Association (FAT). GIDAS is the largest in-depth accident study project in Germany and it was initiated in July 1999. GIDAS is based on the many years of successful work of the BASt- founded investigation team of the Medical University of Hannover, in cooperation with a new investigation team of the Technical University Dresden.Approximately 2,000 accidents involving personal injury are recorded in the area of Dresden and Hannover annually. The investigation team documents all relevant information on vehicle equipment, vehicle damage, injuries of persons involved, the rescue chain, as well as the accident conditions, at the scene. Individual interviews of persons involved are followed by detailed surveying of the accident scene based on existing evidence. In addition to documentation at the scene of the accident, all information available retrospectively is collected in close collaboration with police, hospitals and rescue services. Each documented accident is reconstructed in a simulation program. The entire course of the accident is reconstructed, starting with accident lead-in phase and the reaction of the involved vehicles, to the collision and finally vehicle end position. Characteristic variables such as braking deceleration, starting speeds and collision speed, as well as angle-changes are determined. The documentation scope obtained in GIDAS reaches up to 3,000 encoded parameters per accident.

Basis for new vehicle concepts and legislation

GIDAS provides the automotive and supplier industry with important information for the optimisation of vehicle safety and at the same time forms the basis for future ideas and concepts in research and development. On the basis of accident data, comparisons between reality and collision tests are carried out and vehicle structures with high risk of injury are detected early.Analyses for legislators provide the opportunity of observing accidents in-depth and to identify negative developments. In the past, accident investigators' research has impacted on legislation and guidelines, which to date has saved the lives of many. Special notice should be given to the studies on the efficiency of safety belts, the necessity of the safety helmets for cyclists, and the optimisation of modern vehicles for pedestrian safety.

Infrastructure improvements

The GIDAS-data provide important information for traffic planning and the optimisation of road construction and transport infrastructure. In addition, the level of safety of various road and intersection types can be evaluated.For rescue services, the data provides important information on cause of injuries and emergency diagnostics at the scene of accident, which can reveal areas of improvement for emergency treatment and patient transport.Additionally, GIDAS provides a basis for traffic psychological studies which focus on perception, cognition and attention while driving, willingness to take risks and driving motivation, interaction and the social psychology of driving.

Further information: (GIDAS)

Unfallforschung - GIDAS

Die Verkehrsunfallforschung vor Ort ist ein wichtiges Element zur Verbesserung der Fahrzeug- und Verkehrssicherheit. Nur durch die detaillierte Erfassung und Auswertung von Verkehrsunfällen wird die Komplexität des Unfallgeschehens umfassend dargestellt. Weder moderne Simulationsverfahren noch, Kollisionsfahrversuche (Crash-Tests) können diese Vielfalt alleine abdecken.

Die German In-Depth Accident Study (GIDAS) ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt der BASt und der Forschungsvereinigung für Automobiltechnik (FAT). GIDAS ist das größte Projekt zur Detailanalyse von Unfällen in Deutschland, es wurde im Juli 1999 initiiert. GIDAS basiert auf der langjährigen erfolgreichen Arbeit des BASt-finanzierten Erhebungsteams an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover in Kooperation mit einem neuen Erhebungsteam an der Technischen Universität Dresden.Jährlich werden etwa 2.000 Unfälle mit Personenschaden im Raum Dresden und Hannover aufgenommen. Das Erhebungsteam dokumentiert am Unfallort alle relevanten Informationen zur Fahrzeugausstattung und –beschädigung, Verletzungen der beteiligten Personen, Rettungskette sowie Gegebenheiten der Unfallstelle. Individuelle Befragungen der Beteiligten und eine detaillierte Vermessung der Unfallörtlichkeit mit den vorhandenen Spuren schließen sich an. Zusätzlich zur Dokumentation an der Unfallstelle werden alle nachträglich verfügbaren Informationen in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Polizei, Krankenhäusern und Rettungskräften erhoben. Jeder dokumentierte Unfall wird in einem Simulationsprogramm rekonstruiert. Der gesamte Unfallablauf wird nachvollzogen, beginnend mit der Unfalleinleitung und der Reaktion der Beteiligten über die Kollisionen bis hin zum Stillstand der Fahrzeuge. Dabei werden charakteristische Größen wie Bremsverzögerungen, Einlauf- und Kollisionsgeschwindigkeiten sowie Winkeländerungen ermittelt. Der Umfang der Dokumentation beläuft sich in GIDAS auf bis zu 3.000 codierte Parameter pro Unfall.

Grundlage für neue Fahrzeugkonzepte und Gesetze

Für die Automobil- und Zulieferindustrie liefert GIDAS wichtige Hinweise zur Optimierung der Sicherheit von Fahrzeugen und ist gleichzeitig die Grundlage für zukünftige Ideen und Konzepte in Forschung und Entwicklung. Anhand der Unfalldaten werden Vergleiche zwischen Realität und Kollisionsfahrversuchen durchgeführt und verletzungsgefährdende Strukturen von Fahrzeugen frühzeitig erkannt.Analysen für den Gesetzgeber bieten die Möglichkeit, das Unfallgeschehen genau zu beobachten und negative Entwicklungen festzustellen. So wirkten sich in der Vergangenheit Untersuchungen der Verkehrsunfallforscher auf die Festlegung von Gesetzen und Richtlinien aus, die inzwischen vielen Menschen das Leben gerettet haben. Beispielhaft genannt seien hier Studien zur Effektivität des Sicherheitsgurtes, zur Notwendigkeit eines Fahrradhelmes und zur Optimierung des Fußgängerschutzes moderner Fahrzeuge.

Optimierung der Infrastruktur

Für die Verkehrsplanung liefern die GIDAS-Daten wichtige Informationen zur Optimierung des Straßenbaus und der Verkehrsinfrastruktur. Neben Unfallschwerpunkten können Sicherheitsniveaus verschiedener Straßen- und Kreuzungstypen bewertet werden.Für das Rettungswesen bieten die Daten wichtige Erkenntnisse der Verletzungsentstehung und der Notfalldiagnostik an der Unfallstelle, die Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten bei der Notfallbehandlung und im Patiententransport aufzeigen können.Darüber hinaus liefert GIDAS Grundlagen für verkehrspsychologische Studien, bei denen Wahrnehmung, Kognition und Aufmerksamkeit beim Fahren, Risikobereitschaft und Fahrmotive, Interaktionen und Sozialpsychologie des Fahrens im Vordergrund stehen.

Weitere Informationen: (Medizinische Hochschule Hannover)